top of page

FMP Week 14

This week I moved on to a new phobia, I decided to do Mycophobia, the fear of mushrooms. I kind of had an idea of what I wanted before starting this, but I gathered some reference, mainly of texture of the mushrooms.

I moved on to iterations after this, trying out a few different ideas.

I very quickly knew I wanted to go with the idea of loads of mushrooms growing out of the person, so I kept on improving that idea until I came to the last one. After that I made it into a colour concept. I didn't really play around with colour, I knew I wanted quite earthy tones to the character.

I incorporated moss into the concept as well, to add to the idea that this character was being taken over by nature. Once this was done I moved on to the illustration. Since the portrait from before went so well I decided to do a similar thing with this character too.

For this painting I also decided to try out zbrush a little bit for the mushrooms, just so I had some ref for painting that was at the right angles for what I wanted ect.

I don't really use zbrush, I've only opened it a few times but honestly I'm pretty pleased with these mushrooms, obviously not as final things but for ref they work pretty well. I rotated them around so I had some different angles when it came to the painting, and I started working on the painting a bit more.

This is the final painting! I'm pretty pleased with it, it didn't take too long either so I had a few extra days in the week to work on another character.

The next character I chose to do was the fear of needles, which is Trypanophobia. This one was pretty straight forward, I knew I wanted someone who had been sewn up, something a bit different than normal injection needles.

These iterations didn't take too long, which I was happy with because I still felt like I was behind, they took just under a day to do which meant I had plenty of time to do the illustration!

This one has quite a similar feeling to the bite phobia one, that sort of mixture of beauty and gruesome, which I really like. I'm please with this painting and I'm also really happy I got 2 characters done this week! I feel a lot less stressed out now and feel a lot more on track, next week I hope to revisit the butterfly phobia, do a brand new phobia and organize my book. It's a lot but I feel like I can get it all done if I keep up the same pace as I am at the moment!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page