top of page

FMP Week 13

This week I decided to go back to the teeth phobia. I looked back at what I liked most about the paintings I did and decided I preferred the idea of bite marks. So I changed the phobia to Daknophobia, the fear of being bitten. I did some more iterations to see what I came up with, but I already had a pretty good base from my previous iterations.

At first I wasn't sure if I should still keep some sort of element of teeth in the character, but soon decided not to. From these I moved on to the actual concept, I wanted him to look all beat up and injured, so that it fit with all of the bite marks. I decided not to have to much clothing so that you could see all of the bite marks, otherwise the clothing would hide a majority of them.

Once I had done this, I moved on to the illustration. For this illustration I chose to do more of a portraiture. I really enjoy doing portraits, and at this point I felt quite behind and I know I can do portraits a little quicker than other paintings and keep it at a high quality.

I didn't have many iterations of this painting, which I'm really annoyed about to be honest. I basically gathered loads of ref for the bruise, the bite marks, blood and the face and then did a basic sketch. I then focus on just getting the skin painted and looking good before adding the bite marks afterwards. For the actual bite marks themselves I focused on just one and then copy and pasted it to various places and then edited them to make them look different and fit with wherever it was on the body.

As gruesome as it sounds I actually enjoyed painting the blood. Blood is really hard to get right but I'm happy with the outcome. It looks gross which is the idea, I like the mix between beauty and horror, its something I'm hoping to incorporate into my other paintings. So far I think this is my favourite painting I've done.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page